11 months + 9 days: More big changes

I’m going to type this as fast as I can, because I feel like every minute these days is so precious. The big news: Phil is changing jobs again. I feel I can blast this out to the ether, since his drunken colleague announced his leaving to the entire company during a sloppy karaoke afternoon. Yes – afternoon, not night. Gotta love working in tech. There’s numerous reasons for him changing and I won’t go into the why except to say that he is really excited by what the new company is up to and they really went above and beyond to recruit him. 6 months is a short time to be at a company and Phil has felt all sorts of guilt about leaving. Ultimately, all you can do is cross your fingers and hope it’s the right decision. His current company is still happy with him too and would love for him to stay. So all in all, it’s gone much better than either of us could have anticipated. The new company is a startup in the financial industry and is up to some pretty cool stuff. They big time want to disrupt the banking world and who can argue with that? It could use a bit of a shake up.

My job is ticking along nicely. I’m definitely into it now after having 3 weeks being full time. I got to pitch with a couple of others for what could be our biggest project to date in the office. I have mixed feeling about actually working on the project though, since the program is estimated to be 2 years. That’s a long time to work on 1 project. And I love working on the residential projects and this one would fall into the commercial side of things. We’ll see what happens. I should also mention that I have now had 3 full days to myself and it has been life changing. I still did chores and stuff around the house, but it was so amazing to just look after myself.

On to more interesting items – Little K! Gosh, since my last post, she has changed dramatically every day. She’s had a couple of weird weeks in the sleep department and it’s hard to pinpoint whether it comes down to teething, being sick, developmental leaps, nightmares or any combination. Phil and I are pretty exhausted though. She’s been inseparable from her stuffed bunny lately (thanks Kathryn!) and takes it everywhere. She’s pulling herself up onto anything that she can. She’s started doing a “butt-in-the-air” crawl, which we’re told means she would like to walk. She is a full on chatter box. Nursery describes Keira as “always having something to say.” We had a 4 week review (8 weeks in) and they say Keira is great. They say she is very independent, but likes to play with the other babies. She loves to paint, which I still can’t picture without cringing about the mess. Nursery has been great for her and let’s her experience things that she wouldn’t get to do otherwise.

As for the house (side note: I love how our lives are so compartmentalized – Keira, jobs, house, and somewhere down the line – marriage), we fixed the damp in the front reception room (fancy British word for living room). The gutters have been fixed, which left a mess of the front facade. One job seems to turn into 10 others. Now we have to focus on getting rid of the chimney that is floating upstairs. We’re finding that having shared walls with our neighbours makes everything a bit more complicated. Our neighbours are great though, so no complaints. I’m supposed to be working on a planning application for us to extend into our back garden. When I will have the chance to do that – who knows? It is a priority though. I can already see how we’re getting more and more comfortable in our house. You might read that as a good thing. That scares the crap out of me. I don’t want to be complacent in our house and having it be livable. I want a beautiful space that I’m proud of and can enjoy. So maybe I should wrap this up and go work on the planning application.

One last note, for those that know, my dad had a heart attack at the beginning of September. He is doing so amazingly well. I think we’re all a little in shock. I need to see for myself though, so we’ll be back for a visit at Christmas. We’ve decided to keep this visit just for immediate family, since last time it was so completely chaotic, so please, please, please don’t be offended if we don’t see you. We hadn’t planned on coming back again so soon, but our perspective changed dramatically that week and I’m just super grateful to have a Dad (and everyone else!) to go visit. It was pretty bad and my Dad’s wife, Laura is truly a super hero. She did CPR in the middle of nowhere for 20 minutes and had no cell phone reception or support. The biggest gold star of the year goes to Laura! Can’t wait to see the rest of your smiling mugs at Christmas too and for you to spoil Baby K rotten. Remember – we do have to fly back though and carrying gargantuan suitcases is not our idea of a good time with a 1-year-old in tow.

 

Angel wings always help

Angel wings always help

"I can't smile in my new, designer coat. That's not very Victoria Beckham, come on!"

“I can’t smile in my new, designer coat. That’s not very Victoria Beckham, come on!”

This moring at Tina's. She was a total crazy person at home and a total ham at the restaurant. So from now on, we'll definitely be here on Saturday and Sunday mornings.

This moring at Tina’s. She was a total crazy person at home and a total ham at the restaurant. So from now on, we’ll definitely be here on Saturday and Sunday mornings.

First art piece courtesy of nursery

First art piece courtesy of nursery

Fall is here

Fall is here

Besties

Besties

Always cutest when they're sleeping

Always cutest when they’re sleeping

"Ya, sure, a side of avocado would be delightful. Is it too late to request some porridge?"

“Ya, sure, a side of avocado would be delightful. Is it too late to request some porridge?”

Mama, papa and baby bear boots.

Mama, papa and baby bear boots.

"Thank you Mr. Blueberry. You are so delicious and I think I will eat you."

“Thank you Mr. Blueberry. You are so delicious and I think I will eat you.”

Cannot get enough of this face

Cannot get enough of this face

Phil's DIY skills. Believe me - all the safety equipment is definitely necessary.

Phil’s DIY skills. Believe me – all the safety equipment is definitely necessary.

Come on - those views!

Come on – those views!

The views from a project I'm working on. I may have had a "London moment" and completely lost any sort of cool factor I had.

The views from a project I’m working on. I may have had a “London moment” and completely lost any sort of cool factor I had.

"This outfit is absurd." The toque is adorable though - thanks Grandma Freeman!

“This outfit is absurd.” The toque is adorable though – thanks Grandma Freeman!

IMG_20151003_104908007_HDR

Thanks for the shoes Deb!! And great-grandma's knitted toque still fits! Yeah! We just got matching booties in the post too!

Thanks for the shoes Deb!! And great-grandma’s knitted toque still fits! Yeah! We just got matching booties in the post too!

Keep meaning to mention that we have been making the most delicious meals with our Riverford Recipe Boxes. Phil mostly complains about how long they take to make and how many dishes they create. They are really delicious though.

Keep meaning to mention that we have been making the most delicious meals with our Riverford Recipe Boxes. Phil mostly complains about how long they take to make and how many dishes they create. They are really delicious though.

Day to myself, Reading out in the park - check. Coffee & almond croissant - check.

Day to myself, Reading out in the park – check. Coffee & almond croissant – check.

Hi ho, hi ho, it's off to nursery we go. The boots look cool, but are purely for decoration so far and may be on the large size.

Hi ho, hi ho, it’s off to nursery we go. The boots look cool, but are purely for decoration so far and may be on the large size.

Yes - daddy still does the majority of the nappy changes and I've got the picture to prove it.

Yes – daddy still does the majority of the nappy changes and I’ve got the picture to prove it.

This face just has to be trouble

This face just has to be trouble

I couldn't help it.

I couldn’t help it.

Can't quite manage to keep food just in the mouth.

Can’t quite manage to keep food just in the mouth.

 

4 thoughts on “11 months + 9 days: More big changes

  1. Tara – your blogs are so heartwarming and appreciated so much. Thank you. I love them. Only 61 sleeps until we see all of you, and I am so excited it’s ridiculous. Love you all so so much. Dad

  2. Love seeing your blog. Keira is growing so fast. Congratulations Phil ,you are a wanted man! Love the shots of London Tara. Maybe some day I can persuade hubby to visit the British Isles,Still working on him!

    Lynn Foster Turner

  3. Congrats Phil on your new job. I’m excited for you and hope to hear more about it when possible. Thanks Tara for doing this blog and I’m glad that you were able to recharge on your 3 special days.

  4. I must say, Keira has the most expressive facial expressions!! There’s never a dull moment in your lives that’s for sure. You remind me that I should be getting a lot more done than I am with all my free time. Love you guys xoxoox

Leave a Reply

