Keira’s 10 months (+ some)

I’m behind big time in the updates. Keira is growing like a weed. She eats about as much as I do these days. Her favourite foods are blueberries and avocado. She’ll hoover a whole avocado if given the opportunity. And she has 6 teeth, which she reminds me of daily when she decides one of my body parts looks appetizing. She’s crawling everywhere now and has the bruises to prove it. She’s uncertain about grass, which just means we’ll have to give her more opportunity to be outside in it. She likes to make noise, whether it’s banging on our metal chairs, “singing,” playing with her xylophone or chatting with her friend Zoe at the other end of the bus. Her favourite song is Row, Row, Row your Boat where she starts immediately rocking as soon as you start singing.

It has been amazing having friends with a daughter Keira’s age across the street. That’s something that we never could have planned for and are super lucky to have. Phil and I even got a date night last night without having to pay a babysitter. And there seems to be lots of things to do with the little people in our new neighbourhood.

I’m a bit emotional this week. Keira starts nursery full time next week. My maternity leave is officially over. I won’t get to see her cute little face when she wakes up from nap time. We won’t get to stroll around town in the pushchair or sling. The time we do spend on the weekend will always be the 3 of us. It will be different. I remember back to Phil’s first day back to work after she was born and he came home to me balling my eyes out saying, “I don’t think I can do this everyday.” And now it’s over. It’s such a cliche, but where did the time go? It also means that my friendships that have developed over the last year will change when I can no longer meet up at the cafe or pub.

I’m excited to jump back into work. I had a great client meeting on Wednesday and want to see his vision through to the end. I like being on a project and communicating with everyone involved and designing every last detail. And I’m even more excited about our personal project – our house. I think that might have to be a separate post with pictures and floorplans.

Old house - 9 months old. Just happens to have the same outfit on. Apparently I like this one.

Old house – 9 months old. Just happens to have the same outfit on. Apparently I like this one.

I guess she'll come with us

I guess she’ll come with us

DSC_0808

Our back garden/prison yard

Love that we can hang our laundry outside in the back garden

Love that we can hang our laundry outside in the back garden

IMG_20150912_162005604_HDR IMG_20150912_162901737

Hugs!

Hugs!

IMG_20150924_133524633

Play time at the local community centre

Play time at the local community centre

Are you digging the red carpet as much as we are?

Are you digging the red carpet as much as we are?

IMG_20150926_150252058 IMG_20150926_150850234

IMG_20150919_110311

Great new coffee place not far from our new house. Tina We Salute You. Right by the Olympic Park, which feels eerily like Vancouver’s Olympic Village. Hi Lisa & Petr!

DSC_0820 DSC_0827 DSC_0834 DSC_0837

2 thoughts on “Keira’s 10 months (+ some)

  1. thank you for the update and lovely photos. I just love your blog. I can’t believe how much she is changing. Miss you all so much – all the way to the moon and back. Will be thinking of you lots this coming week going back to work full-time. Sending tons of love and support. Auntie JO xo

  2. How time flies! Boy Keira is such a little character lol. So much change. Your move seems to have worked out perfectly! Having friends next door is so nice and handy. You’ve created this wonderful life in London and that’s pretty cool.
    Mumsy xoxo

Leave a Reply

