So we moved, I started work, Keira started nursery

We have officially moved. I feel like we’ve lived here for months already. It is 3 weeks today. It was not quite smooth sailing. The night before we moved, Phil had a stack of boxes fall on his head in the middle of the night. He seems pretty okay. Then Keira got sick, then Phil got sick. And not just normal sick, but foot, mouth & hand disease. Basically it kicks off with a fever and then your mouth swells inside with soars making it impossible to eat and you develop a rash on your hands and feet. Are you feeling itchy yet?

The first days in the new house we thought, “Oh man, we’ve made a horrible mistake.” The stress of getting the keys (which only happened the day after we exchanged contracts, which was 4 days away from us being homeless, and in this country, that happens) overtook any thoughts we had about actually living in the house. And it needs quite a bit of work. The biggest concern is the damp, so we’re trying to get that dealt with right away.

However, WE OWN A HOUSE IN LONDON! That fact can not be overshadowed. We’re on the ladder in one of the most difficult places to buy a home. After just 2 years in the UK, we made one of our biggest dreams – home ownership – a reality. And it is going to be FUN designing our space. We’ve already spent hours thinking through the floorplan, and, if you’re interested, I’ll share the details on the blog.

Less than a week after moving, I had my first day of work in 9.5 months. And Phil had his first day with Keira all to himself, which unfortunately coincided with her first day of fever. I’m not going to lie – going to work was awesome. Thinking things through, chatting with people in the office, having a coffee by myself while it was still warm. I will be 3 days a week until middle of October and I think the transition is healthy for all of us. Keira loves going to nursery, which has made this whole change so much easier. The people at nursery say she is a joy to have. She doesn’t have a panic attack when Phil drops her off. She’s always happily playing when I pick her up. There’s a few minor tweaks that we’re trying to make at nursery, so that it’s in line with our parenting and what’s important to us: 1) her diet – vegetarian & organic when possible, 2) using nappies and wipes that aren’t full of chemicals and 3) getting time outside. We’re lucky that nursery provides food. I just wish it was of a bit higher standard, which I understand that they have budgets, so the onus is on us to provide food we believe to be nutritious.

Also, I did pretty well in a client presentation, which has boosted my confidence. I’ve really been thrown in. There’s no, “Oh, let’s ease in the woman whose been on mat leave.” I could have handled a day or 2 of that. But I love where I work and it’s great to be in the office.

Keira is an awesome little person. I can’t help but gush. She is changing so rapidly these days. This week the crawling has really started. She has been a mattress and soft landings crawler until now. Can’t blame her. And she still prefers to walk while we hold her hands, which has made my legs feel like seizing up at any moment. She chats up a storm. At nursery, they say she is quite happy to sit and play and chat. She does a really strange, deep grumble that is a bit disconcerting. She claps when you say “Clap.” Good monkey! And waves at people. When we’re on public transit, she’ll actually lean over to get people’s attention and then beam at them. She even connected with a late teens/early 20’s guy that was doing his best to ignore her, but eventually she won him over. And I’m not just saying that as one of those annoying mother types who just thinks her daughter is the cutest. Or wait, maybe that’s exactly what I am. Every tiny morsel she attempts to put in her mouth. So far she’s eaten a wide variety of things that live on the floor.

The biggest thing that’s happening right now, I’m not sure I’m allowed to discuss. And I can’t not mention anything because it has literally consumed us. There was a major health scare and it’s made being so far away really crappy. It’s made everything else that we worry about seem so irrelevant. Sorry for the mysteriousness. I hope it gives some context as to why updating the blog over the last while has been at the bottom of my to-do list. I do think it’s super important though. I love looking back at the old stories and what was happening.

And lastly, it’s my mumsy’s birthday tomorrow, so I will give a big, squishy virtual hug!!! Love you!!

Happy birthday Nanny!!

Happy birthday Nanny!!

We got another date night while Gaby was here! It was so great!

We got another date night while Gaby was here! It was so great!

Right before the sand went directly into her mouth

Right before the sand went directly into her mouth

Swings are awesome

Swings are awesome

Ahhh... watch out for the walking ones.

Ahhh… watch out for the walking ones.

Highbury Fields - we'll miss you

Highbury Fields – we’ll miss you

IMG_20150819_122417079

But we will not miss you transit. Actually we will. The overground has A/C

The day we got keys! Keira on the overground

The day we got keys!

Move day - breakfast at Ottolenghi

Move day – breakfast at Ottolenghi

Our new kitchen Keira doesn't seem to mind that it's a disaster.

Our new kitchen Keira doesn’t seem to mind that it’s a disaster.

We still spend lots of time out for coffee or a pint.

We still spend lots of time out for coffee or a pint.

Favourite toy - the iPad

Favourite toy – the iPad

First day of work

First day of work

At the office selfie

At the office selfie

New pub and it was quite good

New pub and it was quite good

These 2 are the cutest

These 2 are the cutest

Congrats Keira on your first week at nursery!!

Congrats Keira on your first week at nursery!!

The park by our house on a beautiful day.

The park by our house on a beautiful day.

Those chubby legs kill me. I just want to eat them. That would be a very bad vegetarian.

Those chubby legs kill me. I just want to eat them. That would be a very bad vegetarian.

3 thoughts on “So we moved, I started work, Keira started nursery

  1. Tara, Phil and Keira- Love your blogs and the way you write is so “real”. We feel everything or at least a lot of what’s going on in your lives and it’s great. Keep them coming! Huge hugs to all of you. Dad

  2. Love the sandals and dress. You all look great despite the blips. Looking forward to watching the transformation of the house. Good luck!

  3. So many changes for you guys. You should be proud of what you’ve accomplished!! I Had to giggle at the selfie Tara. Hard to do a selfie with Keira. This must be your first selfie in 10 months. Love you and looking forward to seeing you (I won’t give anything else away 🙊)

Leave a Reply

