Weekly Housing Update

It’s ours! Somewhat officially – as of this morning – we own a house. Nothing like biting your finger nails until the last minute. It has been a rather stressful week of uncertainty, which is why I haven’t done any updates. I’m rather offended that I still have not received any flowers and no one messaged to ensure I was at home and not in hospital suffering from a mental break.

Top this week off with Keira’s second cold in 2 weeks that was lovingly passed along to me, as well as Keira deciding 5am is an acceptable time to wake up, and you have a perfect storm for short tempers and flairs of anger and frustration.

We have exchanged contracts this morning and will get keys on Wednesday. At this point, it is impossible to get out of the contract without severe penalties. Don’t ask me what those penalties are. I couldn’t tell you. But I can assure you, we will not be the ones asking to get out of this purchase.

Now, I can get packing. We have movers scheduled for next Friday, so we’ve got 1 week to pull everything together.

In the meantime, it has been horrible weather in London. Is this really summer? So Gaby, Keira and I took the opportunity to check out the Tate Modern, drink copious amounts of coffee and count the number of people we take out with our umbrellas while puching the pushchair, while avoiding all responsibility to pack, cook or deal with moving details.

Phil and I got a date night last night too. It’s honestly the best feeling to be out just the 2 of us. I don’t think we had really said more than 4 sentences to each other this week. TGIF!

The finger pointing has gone to a whole new level. We basically follow the finger wherever it wants to go.

The finger pointing has gone to a whole new level. We basically follow the finger wherever it wants to go. I imagine Keira with her Oprah voice saying, “And you get a Salvador Dali, and you get a Dali and you get a Dali…”

She discovered the endless fun of ripping napkins and eating lime wedges

She discovered the endless fun of ripping napkins and eating lime wedges

The most delicious brownies from Borough Market

The most delicious brownies from Borough Market

The robot was definitely her favourite installation at Tate Mdern

The robot was definitely her favourite installation at Tate Modern

She now likes to walk, which is doing wonders for my back. *sarcasm* Mom - I can hear you from here saying "Payback is a b%#&$." Apparently I didn't have any interest in crawling and either does Keira. Unless if she's on the sofa or bed where she can scare the living crap out of us.

She now likes to walk, which is doing wonders for my back. *sarcasm* Mom – I can hear you from here saying “Payback is a b%#&$.” Apparently I didn’t have any interest in crawling and either does Keira. Unless if she’s on the sofa or bed where she can scare the living crap out of us.

Photobombed by a Picasso

Photobombed by a Picasso

Not sure what the weird glow is in behind Gaby & Keira. I'm hoping it's Keira's museum fairy godmother that prevents her from having temper tantrums in public places.

Not sure what the weird glow is in behind Gaby & Keira. I’m hoping it’s Keira’s museum fairy godmother that prevents her from having temper tantrums in public places. It also reminds me of those Crime Stoppers photos where the person doing something illegal is highlighted for emphasis. As far as I know, this guy wasn’t doing anything criminal (other than walking around with a rucksack in London).

Last Saturday we did IKEA - all day. I can think of nothing humorous to say about that situation.

Last Saturday we did IKEA – all day. I can think of nothing humorous to say about that situation. You can see our lovely table purchase from the “As Is” section, which Phil spent the better part of an hour trying to wrap.

Ending with babies!

Ending with babies!

4 thoughts on “Weekly Housing Update

  1. OMG I love your blog! So happy for you guys FINALLY getting the deal closed for the purchase of your house and home. Yippee!!! Wild cheering! Big hugs to all of you. Dad

  2. Congratulations, Phil, Tara and Keira on moving into your own home! No more bedroom sharing with Keira! No more having to carry the pushchair up and down stairs! Yes to designing and decorating your home the way that you want. We are so happy for you.
    Love,
    Mom

  3. Way to go guys! What a relief I’m sure. You are right about the payback. You refused to crawl too Tara ha ha.
    Hope the move goes smooth. Keep us posted.
    Love Mumsy xoox

  4. I didn’t dare ask how is it going with the house, again. Now that you have it, congrats! Let the decorating begin…
    let me know if you need help with painting, i’ll fly over, hahhahaahaa

Leave a Reply

