Busy

Does anyone else hate the word busy? I think it’s used too frequently as a euphemism for “I just don’t really care.” So I’m here to tell you that I’ve been too “busy” to write a blog post about BC.  The honest truth is that I just don’t want to spend the time when Keira’s sleeping to write a post of that length. I still don’t know where all our pictures are. I can’t wrap my head around how to make it an interesting post for those that aren’t included. So it just hasn’t happened. God – it feels good to just be honest.

What I have been doing whilst Keira sleeps is phoning our solicitor, thinking through how to design our new home and worrying about whether or not the sale will actually ever happen. Throw in a bit of time on gossip and design blogs and there’s her nap time gone.

Since we’re on the topic of the house, I’ll fill you in on a bit. As most of you know, we have 2 weeks left in our current flat. And apparently the solicitors still haven’t received everything to complete the purchase of our home. They have everything from us. I think. Although, we found so many errors and mistakes in the contract, that I wouldn’t be surprised if what we signed has no real legal consequence. This country, which I love living in, has the most infuriating process for buying a home. We are meant to exchange contracts by today at the latest. We’ve got 8 hours to make this happen and I will be on my phone pestering like it’s nobodies business. If I don’t pull this off, then please send flowers to the closest psychiatric hospital – preferably ones that are all 1 colour – those are my favourites. Do you think we qualify to live in a homeless shelter?

Did I also mention that we actually own no furniture? This includes a mattress, which I consider to be the most essential furniture item.

Oh – and Keira starts nursery on 24 August. Just the transitioning part before she’s there permanently as a prisoner. I can only worry about 1 thing at a time and right now nursery comes after house.

I also notice that as my level of house stress rises, so too does my level of alcohol and coffee intake (decaf – let’s not get too excited).

P.S. I will have a lovely assistant (Gaby!) staying with us as of 10 August, which in my mind means I get all these things done that I’ve been meaning to do (i.e. start packing).

In the meantime, I’ll distract you with pictures of babies. Keira is now almost 9 months old. Gadzukes?!

More pub babies

More pub babies

"This is going to be a long day. Jet lag, oi!"

“This is going to be a long day. Jet lag, oi!”

On Dad's shoulders for the 1st time

On Dad’s shoulders for the 1st time. Sock still not located.

IMG_20150731_133747428_HDR

“Chickens? I had my own to look at in Canada at Granny and Grandpa’s. Moving on. Where’d that giant pig go?”

Visiting Hackney City Farm

Visiting Hackney City Farm

Keira & her buddy Joey

Keira & her buddy Joey. Leaf was in mouth shortly after the taking of this photo.

Keira & her buddy Casper

Keira & her buddy Casper

She loved this thing and I'm really hoping we don't have to buy one

She loved this thing and I’m really hoping we don’t have to buy one

Pub babies

Pub babies

Some are crawling, some aren't (ahem - Keira)

Some are crawling, some aren’t (ahem – Keira)

But she did manage to pull herself up in her crib (and then crash and hit her head)

But she did manage to pull herself up in her crib (and then crash and hit her head)

One thought on “Busy

  1. love love love it! I so love your blogs. Thank you and yes, you are ” busy” when your kids are wee…. it is hard to get things done. My advice – Enjoy every second and get outdoors a lot to keep the mind clear and happy. Love you tons. Thinking of you with all the house stuff going on ( not easy). LOVE LOVE LOVE !! XO

Leave a Reply

