Sleep training update

Since my last post was so popular, I thought I would update y’all. Even though it’s only been a day since last time I posted, it feels like it has been weeks. Yesterday, I was dreading being at home with just Keira and I, and today, it is so much easier. In fact, this morning Keira fell asleep without doing anything. I just put her in her cot and put my hand on her back. She squirmed and made some noises and a couple minutes later was completely asleep. Right now she is closing in on a 1.5 hour nap. You have to understand that I have never been able to get her to sleep for more than 40 minutes at a time and this morning she has done 2 naps that were both longer. I am simply in shock!

Last night, she fell asleep with Phil’s assistance at just after 5:30pm, but it only took 20 minutes. She then slept until 7:15 this morning with 3 feeds in that time. Phil actually managed to get her to go back to sleep with just putting his hand on her back at 2:30 and she fell back asleep and I got a restful snooze on the sofa for a couple of hours. It’s almost like she’s finally catching up on lost sleep.

I am cautiously optimistic right now. I can see glimpses that we are getting closer to normality again, and yet, I don’t want to get too comfortable. However, I am a big believer in celebrating successes and right now I am giddy with what we’ve accomplished in less than 3 days! Another celebration – it’s been 2 solid days without a dummy. She even went through baby massage class yesterday without one, which is unheard of! I’m not against using it if I have to when we’re out in public though. Let’s be reasonable here people. And I also haven’t been strict on the whole “must be at home to make this work.” One of her naps yesterday was in the sling and I kind of enjoy the closeness we get during that time, so I’m not really ready to get rid of it. My only caveat to this whole thing is that we may be coming down with colds, so this could be playing a roll in what is happening. Again, I’ll keep you posted.

IMG_20150320_154221647_HDR

Happy girls in one of her friend Fiona’s swing

2 thoughts on “Sleep training update

  1. It’s amazing how a 15lb. baby girl can completely exhaust 2 fully grown adults – lol. She looks like a happy little camper. I agree whole-heartedly to celebrate the successes – you’ve earned them. It’s also great that you and Phil are working together and supporting each other during these trying times. Often exhaustion leads to tension in relationships. That you support each other is a powerful tool. Well, that and wine, ha ha..

    Cheers,

    Mumsy xoxo

  2. This is good stuff. Memory is a beautiful thing. You will not remember the daily frustrations as much as the positive fun stuff and firsts – maybe sleep deprivation causes memory loss?
    Do what suits you, babies are adaptable. I woke Yvonne up at 5am as an infant and took her to Moniques swim lessons – well I don’t actually remember it… and i have no idea where Paul was during these lessons (hopefully he came with us) again, don’t remember. Sometime later, we discovered soccer, oh joy, much more civilized practice times. Ah, the good ‘ol days…

Leave a Reply

