Drool-fest

The highlight of my week last week was going to the dentist – by myself! Why is that so exciting you might ask? Well, I got to walk BY MYSELF – that means no pushchair; no hauling a 14 lb (approx.) baby down a flight of stairs with a dummy that falls out constantly; that means jaywalking across the street; that means going into Starbucks without having to do the awkward hold-the-door-open-and-shove-the-pushchair-in-while-not-waking-a-sleeping-baby-while-strangers-watch-without-offering-to-help (and yes – I went to Starbucks after my teeth cleaning, while kind of defeats the whole purpose); that meant not having to hold a baby while trying to focus on what the other adults are saying to you. I’m sure you still think I’m lame, but I don’t care. It was awesome.

Keira has learned that she can now reach out and grab a baby sitting across from her and that if she chats with them, they might just chat back. She likes to feel things. She enjoys when I read her Wired Magazine or Elle Decoration (come on – she doesn’t know what I’m saying anyway). She likes watching The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills¬†documentaries about Britain’s history. She loves pulling out my hair by the hand full (which is pretty easy right now because it is shedding like crazy). She is infatuated with Phil’s voice and will talk back (more like talk over) him. She is 3.5 months old. And I’m pretty sure she’s a genius. I have officially self-diagnosed myself with AdoringParent-ficiutus. It strikes almost immediately after the birth of your baby and blinds you to your babies faults while also giving you a false sense that your baby is light years ahead of his or her peers – even when she sleeps and/or cries throughout the whole baby massage class that you paid for. There is no treatment unfortunately.

This week has consisted of going to the pub not once, but twice already. It’s actually the best place to meet up other moms, because they’re usually dead (the pubs, not the moms) and have tonnes of room for pushchairs. I have become an expert at planning routes that are easier to maneuver around and which restaurants and cafes have ample room for babies and all their accompaniments. Let’s talk about sleeping though. I can’t believe I manage to function as a normal human being without having a nap (for some reason I can’t sleep during the day). I generally wake up some time between 4-5am, with the rare occasion that I can fall back asleep, which is when I go out to the sofa and wake Phil up (we all sleep better when Phil’s on the sofa). To clarify, Keira is asleep at that time. You never think that the baby will actually sleep better than you do, but in fact, that seems to be what happens. She falls asleep some time around 7pm after our fancy new bedtime routine (a bath – that’s really it). I don’t go to bed at that time of course -that would be way too ridiculously early. I usually at least last until 8pm. I then get woken up anywhere between every 2-6 hours. That is quite a range and varies every night, so I don’t think I ever quite adjust to any sort of sleep pattern. Speaking of sleep patterns, I better get to the pictures before she wakes up…

One big happy family

One big happy family

She is definitely a Londoner - on the tube (because she was cranky in her pushchair)

She is definitely a Londoner – on the tube (because she was cranky in her pushchair)

She loves feeling Phil's hair

She loves feeling Phil’s hair

Obligatory Mom & baby selfie

Obligatory Mom & baby selfie

What is she thinking about? I often wonder....

What is she thinking about? I often wonder….

And she's awake

And she’s awake

I often find her skirting the edges of her already slightly small crib

I often find her skirting the edges of her already slightly small crib

"So I said to the guy..."

“So I said to the guy…”

Thanks Amanda for the awesome outfit!

Thanks Amanda for the awesome outfit!

Oh, Canada!

Oh, Canada!

"This is my bed!"

“This is my bed!”

Warning AdoringParent-ficiutus: She can stand so solidly

Warning AdoringParent-ficiutus: She can stand so solidly

Oh, the faces

Oh, the faces

Thanks Aunty Lisa & Uncle Scott for the comfy sleeping bag!

Thanks Aunty Lisa & Uncle Scott for the comfy sleeping bag!

The fam

The fam (and Keira’s giant feet)

Brunching again! With my co-worker Anna and her fiance Melody.

Brunching again! With my co-worker Anna and her fiance Melody.

Bundled up to gp pit

Bundled up to go out

Warning AdoringParent-ficiutus: Almost rolling over!

Warning AdoringParent-ficiutus: Almost rolling over!

Happy in her crib

Happy in her crib

Warning AdoringParent-ficiutus: look at that amazing head control

Warning AdoringParent-ficiutus: look at that amazing head control

More happy days

More happy days

"Please mummy, can I have some toast and tea?" (said with a British accent)

“Please mummy, can I have some toast and tea?” (said with a British accent)

4 thoughts on “Drool-fest

  1. Love the pics Tara, especially Mother and Daughter in your onesies! You all seem so happy. Lots of smiles in almost every picture. This blog had me in stitches (British saying?). Sending tons of love to all of you. Dad

  2. I love, love love these blogs Tara. Seriously – you are an amazing WRITER! My favourite read in my life ( not kidding at all). I laugh, cry and smile. I am going to try to download some of the photos for Gaby and my wall at home. We are re-doing our photos. How many days till we see you ALL ?? Loads of love, Auntie Jo ( PS- Will email you regarding running today! Woot woot! ). Thx for starting my day off so lovely ( it is 9 am here – sipping coffee and reading your blog – a perfect start to the day). Love and squishes to Phil and Keira. xo

    • Thanks Aunty Jo! Let me know if you need any pictures sent to you. Just over 3 months til we’re back in BC!! Woohoo! Love you!!

      On Thursday, March 5, 2015, London's Calling this Canuck wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

