Before I forget…

Keira is 6 weeks today! Apparently this is supposed to be a big milestone where our lives get dramatically easier. I started writing this post a couple of days ago. At that time, I would have agreed. She had a couple of nights of amazing sleep. 6 hours at one stretch and 4 or 5 a couple of other times. I was thinking we had made it – survived the every-2-hour nighttime wakings. However, now we seem to be back in that routine.

We can attribute part of that to her massive growth spurts though. We weighed her last Monday and she was up to 10lbs 4 oz. That is 1lb 4 oz in about a week. Go little chunk!

I find myself wanting to freeze time. Every time I look at her, I notice another wrinkle that wasn’t there last time. She seems to sprout overnight and all of a sudden, the little bundle we brought home from the hospital is getting big. I want to remember everything and document it as it happens. Yet, already I forget details from the last couple of weeks. Sleep deprivation doesn’t help this matter whatsoever.

We are feeling much more confident as new parents now. A huge contributing factor to this is that my mom has been here for the last week. She’s taught Keira how to use a pacifier, which has greatly reduced our public meltdowns. It’s a great trick when we’re on transit. Crying is supposed to peak at 6 weeks, but I think we’ve gotten a bit better at reading what she wants. She still seems to be uncomfortable with gas (or “wind” as they call it here) or reflux.

We’ve spent the last couple of weeks getting out and about more. I’ve gotten immensely more confident being out of the house. And it’s been essential while Phil is at work. My mom, Keira and I have been enjoying coffee out most days and wandering London. We even ventured as far afield as Oxford Circus for a bit of shopping on Christmas Eve. My office had us over for treats and champagne on the 23rd and our neighbour upstairs invited us over for a Christmas Eve get together.

We had a very relaxed Christmas and ate pretty much all day. We took a walk through Clissold Park and were surprised to find a few of the pubs were actually open. It has been so amazing to have my mom here. She has made us feel more comfortable and given us an extra pair of hands we so desperately needed. I am starting to realize how different our first month with Baby K would have been had we been back in Vancouver.

My birthday was on the 18th. It was a very different birthday. We did manage to make it to the pub for dinner, which is an acceptable place for a baby in this neck of the woods. I also met up with my co-workers for some delicious Indian food at Tayyab’s. I still don’t exactly understand the hype and why this is supposed to be the best Indian food in London, but it is tasty and close to the office.

So there’s no better way to capture moments than with photos, so here is a stream of them.IMG_0776

We met Nanny at the airport and survived 3 hours on the Tube

We met Nanny at the airport and survived 3 hours on the Tube

Happy birthday to me!

Happy birthday to me!

My first glass of wine in a very long time. It feels well earned.

My first glass of wine in a very long time. It feels well earned.

DSC_0094

Christmas Day walk in the park

DSC_0085 DSC_0084

Look what Santa left us under the tree

Look what Santa left us under the tree

Thanks Great Grandma Ferris for the toque! Hand knitted - amazing!

Thanks Great Grandma Ferris for the toque! Hand knitted – amazing!

3 generations on Christmas morning

3 generations on Christmas morning

The state of our lives

The state of our lives

DSC_0026

She fits into her snowsuit now!

DSC_0047 DSC_0039

The face says it all

The face says it all

IMG_20141219_154419538

The Elvis

DSC_0013 DSC_0009

Out for birthday brunch at  The Riding House Cafe. Seriously the best pancakes!

Out for birthday brunch at The Riding House Cafe. Seriously the best pancakes!

Coffee - take 1

Coffee – take 1 – The Blue Legume

Coffee - take 3

Coffee – take 2 – Costa Coffee near Oxford Circus and after visiting a photography exhibition

Coffee - take 2

Coffee – take 3 – Sawyer & Gray

IMG_20141222_132227965

Me hungry!

IMG_20141223_100738286

Yes – I’m in my skinny jeans! Yeah for more options to wear!

3 thoughts on “Before I forget…

  1. Such great pics of all of you! Keira has some great facial expressions…lol….. So nice for your mom to be there with you 🙂 Have fun!!

  2. so so awesome! Just read this now ( Dec 29th) – lovely photos of you ALL. Yep made me TEAR up again!! So great to see you all. Love this blog more than words can say. Thank you. Lots of love to all of you. xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

