A new job!

I’m am giddy with excitement. I have a new job as an Interior Designer at Originate Architecture in London.

The company works on amazing projects on both the residential and commercial side of the business, and I can’t wait to get started! They contacted me out of the blue last week because they are overwhelmed with work and the timing could not have been better (because I am losing my mind!).

I was introduced to the firm by my mentor/teacher/friend in Vancouver (thank you – you know who you are!!). One of the owners of the firm is originally from Vancouver, and one of the other designers also went to BCIT. I ended up bringing them in at my last position for the projects we were working on. Fortunately for me, those projects fell through, so there was no conflict of interest in them hiring me now.

Yippee!!!! I have dreamed of this moment of just being a full-time Interior Designer for so long. Not having to do the accounting, the sales, the marketing (Heather – you know what I’m talking about!). It has been a long road following my passion and it feels like it’s all paying off now. And being in London is like the icing on the cake. Being in East London is the sprinkles on the icing on the cake – only 30 minutes of commuting.

This was us pre-celebrating in 16 degree weather yesterday. Nice enough for a pint outside!!

This was us pre-celebrating in 16 degree weather yesterday. Nice enough for a pint outside!!

5 thoughts on “A new job!

  1. How exciting!! Don’t forget to tell them you’ll have to take a couple weeks off when your mumsy and grandma come to visit 😉 Congratulations Tara-bear xoxo

Leave a Reply

