Morocco Part Deux

We left the Atlas Mountains and began the second part of our adventure, which was a 4×4 tour and camel trek through the Sahara.

Our 4x4

Our 4×4, which was better than the alternative….

DSC_0391
Our guide picked us up from our hotel an we started the long drive towards the Sahara. The road was long and treacherous as it weaves its way through the Atlas Mountains and makes the Sea-to-Sky Highway look like a piece of cake. We saw every type of climate possible: forests of palm trees, flat desert, and snow-capped mountain. And I felt woozy from all the twists and turns.

DSC_0506 DSC_0370 DSC_0267

I should say I was a bit reluctant and, frankly, freaked out to get on a camel. I’ve never even been on a horse, so a camel was a bit of a stretch. Our guide pulled up to the spot where the camels (actually named a dromedaries if they only have one hump) were waiting for us and the other sucker tourists. I was taking a picture and the next thing I know, I was ushered towards a camel and sitting on top. The camel lurched upwards and I held on for dear life, as well as to my camera in the hopes that I could do both successfully. About 1 minute into being on a camel, I thought I had made a grave error. My butt hurt, my hands were tense from holding on so tight and there was no way for me to communicate with the non-English speaking person pulling the camels. I checked my watch and almost cried out when it read that we had only been on top of this beast for 5 minutes. We were told it would be about an hour and a half long journey. I was greatly relieved when we passed through two sand dunes 20 minutes later and spotted our campsite. I didn’t care that we had paid for a longer trek. I just wanted off. We snapped a few photos, our camel grunted and we were thankfully able to get off. I couldn’t help but wonder how the camels are treated and ended up feeling like I had done something malicious by taking part in a camel trek.

DSC_0408

Do we look like natural dromedary riders?

We then got to watch the sun set over the Sahara, which was a beautiful experience and needs no further explanation. At this moment, gratitude for being alive and able to experience different places on this planet was all we could do.

"I survived a dromedary ride." Dun dun da duh.

“I survived a dromedary ride.” Dun dun da duh. And if Phil’s pants look too short, it’s because they are. He realized at the airport that he had only packed one pair of pants, so we bought the only pair at Stansted that “fit” him. Thank god for Boxing Day sales. This is what 16 GBP buys you.

DSC_0445 DSC_0413

The scariest part was the bivouac (meaning tent). The Sahara gets really cold at night. Phil and I had done our best to prepare, but I was not exactly certain we had gotten it right. Again, my germaphobic ways did not help. I thought about who else had slept there, when the last time all the linens were washed, how they cleaned the dishes we ate off of, and whether I should even bother with the washrooms. All my concerns turned out to be validated. I am just not a camper. I won’t complain because our experience in the Atlas Mountains makes these things still pale in comparison and are not real problems. Spending 1 night camping in the Sahara is not the same as running out of water in your village.

Our tent village

Our tent village

IMG_20131229_201945 IMG_20131229_201756

Mint tea time

Mint tea time

Dinner's ready. We found the only other English speakers, who just happened to have brought a bottle of wine with them. We made sure to ask first if we could open it, since drinking alcohol goes against the religion in Morocco.

Dinner’s ready. We found the only other English speakers, who just happened to have brought a bottle of wine with them. We made sure to ask first if we could open it, since drinking alcohol goes against the religion in Morocco.

We woke up to see the moon still out.

We woke up to see the moon still out.

Then the sun rise over the Sahara. Wow!

Then the sun rise over the Sahara. Wow!

We gratefully climbed back into our 4×4 the next morning and declined the offer of getting on the camel again. Unfortunately, our guide had become sick from something he ate the day before, so we had to swap to a taxi in Ouzazarte (Hollywood of the desert – where some major films have been made, like 300 and Body of Lies). I couldn’t believe we had managed to not get sick and yet our local guide was doubled over with a bug of some sort. There is maybe something to be said for being vegetarian whilst traveling.

We made our ways through the winding roads between the Sahara and Marrakech and arrived just as the sun was setting and rush hour was settling in. It was chaos like I’ve never experienced before.

3 thoughts on “Morocco Part Deux

  1. Oh Tara, I have to laugh, picturing you camped out in the Sahara desert. Talk about leaving your comfort zone! I’d have to say you weren’t just camping, you were glamping! I’m sure that this is considered a luxury retreat for tourists by the locals.

    Beautiful pix. Did you make sand angels? Grandpa would be so proud of you Tara – of Arabia. I’ll have to show him the picture of you on the camels. His birthday is coming up and I’m going to try to download the picture for his birthday card – hee hee.

    It’s interesting that there is no alcohol allowed. Does that apply for both men and women? I’m curious if the crime rate/ alcohol related police incidents that are so prevalent in Western society is much lower or is there a lot of bootlegging going on. Different cultures are so interesting and you certainly are experiencing these cultural differences to the fullest!

    Love mumsy xoxo

    • Your photos are amazing Tara-of-Arabia (good one Linny)… i know it’s a guided tour, safety first and all that, but i gotta tell ya, i think you are very brave and i’m not talking about the camel…
      Phil – you look fantastic in those pants!
      Maybe it was being vegan that saved you from stomach problems, but it could easily have been the dates!

Leave a Reply

