Happy Canada Day

I’m a little late to the party, but I wasn’t on Monday. Being in London is an amazing place to celebrate. Somehow, Canadians uniting here feels so much more exciting. Like we’re all having this similar experience of being in a country that isn’t our homeland and celebrating where we come from.

Phil and I headed to Trafalgar Square. We were planning on meeting up with some fellow Canadians that we know, but that didn’t pan out. Nonetheless, there were many Canadians to be found. And Tragically Hip was putting on a full concert. Those old guys have a lot of energy. The Sheepdogs and Jann Arden were the warm up acts. Molson Canadian was the only beer in supply, which I thought was pretty disappointing. They’re owned by an American company and from what I’ve been told, it tastes horrible. I’m not a beer fan, so I can’t comment. Let’s see some great microbreweries instead.

Mini donuts were dinner. And I came right from Zumba. I woke up in the middle of the night feeling like I was going to die. And they cost us 4 GBP per bag, which consisted of 4 donuts.

Mini donuts were dinner. And I came right from Zumba. I woke up in the middle of the night feeling like I was going to die. And they cost us 4 GBP per bag, which consisted of 4 donuts.

This photo I borrowed from Nicole. Thank you!

We are Canadian or at least Calgarian.

We are Canadian or at least Calgarian.

 

IMG_20130701_215621 IMG_20130701_205907

And if you want to know what 10,000 Canadians in Trafalgar Square sound like singing the national anthem, here you go. Be forewarned, we’re all pretty bad and it is really loud, so turn down your speakers (not just a little, but a lot).

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Canada Day

  1. How cool to celebrate Canada Day in a different country with either fellow Canadians or locals who want a taste of Canada (sans the donuts). Here in Canada/Victoria many celebrated by getting absolutely wasted – another day off work equals another day to drink. I did not partake in the festivities, we helped Lauren move – again. Maybe it takes moving away from Canada to really feel patriotic and celebrate the birth of our “home and native land”. Did any hockey games break out?

  2. Canadian beer, donuts and Tragically Hip outdoors and 10,000 strong singing the Canadian national anthem. In London. Perfect! Love how you’re creating all of these experiences!

Leave a Reply

