This one’s for my dad

Even though I’m a lot of miles away, I still owe it to my dad to make this the best Father’s Day possible, which is tricky. I got lucky in the Dad department. I know that if something goes wrong, he would drop everything and fly to London on the next flight out. That’s just who he is. His kids mean a lot to him.

He puts his neck on the line to make sure we succeed, whether that means through personal development or professionally. I’m lucky to have a network of people who support me in my dreams and at the front of the pack is my dad cheerleading me on. He’s always told me to do what I love and follow my passions and never dream small. Not everybody gets that kind of encouragement. Many kids get, “Go into something safe and secure and work a 9 to 5 job with a good pension and good benefits.” I can assure you I have never heard those words come out of his mouth, with the exception of “Go to school.” He makes me think for myself and always has, but with lots of good advice along the way.

He has given us opportunities in life that he never got himself. When I was in university, he’d find a way to pay my tuition come hell or high water. When my brother found his dream school, my Dad stepped up to the plate to make it happen in the face of lots of obstacles. When my sister was struggling, I know he was there for her, too. When our family was crumbling apart, he got us communicating again in a healthy way. I see the world largely the way I do, as one of possibility and gratitude, because of my dad.

Love you, Dad!

P.S. I know you’ll be the first person to read this.

IMG_1078

One thought on “This one’s for my dad

  1. Tara you are such an amazing person! You found ways to make this Father’s Day so beautiful and touching from so far away. I would love to know how you managed to get a Father’s Day card to me from London that arrived on Friday. Perfect timing, and what a message in that card and in your blog. I am feeling loved, and very deeply moved. And having a bit of a chuckle, as you’re right, its 5:55am so I probably am the first person to read your blog šŸ™‚

    I am so grateful to have you as my daughter. Blessed. Proud. You are so beautiful inside and outside. London is very lucky to have you.

    I love that picture as it brought back some amazing memories, and quite a few priceless moments.

    Picture me with a big smile all day today.

    Love,

    Dad
    XxOo

Leave a Reply

