Stonehenge on the weekend

First of all, I want to thank everyone who commented on my post in order to help me out with the job at Yoo. I was totally blown away by your responses. I couldn’t actually digest all the comments right away. I just couldn’t believe the words that everyone had written. Was that really for me? That is a post I will cherish forever.

Last weekend, we got together with the amazing Nicole and Guy. First for brunch and then on to Stonehenge. Nicole found a great deal on a tour bus, which is usually my least favourite form of transport, but this time was tolerable due to the great company. The bus driver was Italian and would go on random tirades about the “big stones” we were venturing out to see. In general, I would say his demeanour was a little scratchy.

I still can’t believe that I can spend my weekends going to things like Stonehenge. “So what did you do this weekend?” (asked no one). “Oh you know, only visited one of the great wonders of the world.” So what to say about an ethereal, mysterious, prehistoric monument? How about I just let the pictures talk for themselves? Although, I did find the construction methods astonishing. One third of the stone is actually underground. They believe that in order to get the stone upright, they would dig a hole with one angled wall and use that angle as leverage to raise the stone. To hold the top, horizontal “lintel” on top, they carved out sort of a half sphere on the lintel and a jutting out sphere on the upright, so you get sort of a mortise and tenon joint. How they managed to line up the pieces is anyone’s guess. Can you imagine hoisting those giant stones up 4500 years ago? I like the thought that this was once buried in the middle of a heavily forested area. Doesn’t it make it seem more interesting than something you can see on the side of the street as you drive past? I was hoping that they’d clarify what the intention of the stone henge was originally, but they still can only speculate. Was it for religious purposes, scientific or an overlap of both?

IMG_20130602_150832 IMG_20130602_151310 IMG_20130602_151932 IMG_20130602_152357 IMG_20130602_152738 IMG_20130602_153308 IMG_20130602_153551 IMG_20130602_153754 IMG_20130602_154316

3 thoughts on “Stonehenge on the weekend

  1. Interesting that stonehenge used to be in a forest! I was doing some serious tree hugging last weekend – lol. We were camping up at Port Renfrew surrounded by giant trees and even though I’ve lived on the wet coast all my life I am still in awe of these beautiful giants. We were a hop skip and a jump away from Avatar grove but did not go. Next time for sure. Avatar Grove is a protected forest area after it was going to be logged but environmental groups came to its rescue. The trees are among the largest in North America.
    We also saw Elk. They are in the process of transporting some of these endangered species to the mainland since Vancouver Island is the only place in Canada that they have survived..

  2. I am so envious that you both have seen Stone Henge. Sylvia and I were on our way to see it but we got on the wrong train The train took us back to London instead. Maybe someday I’ll see it.

Leave a Reply

