Phillip, Elizabeth & the Queen at Windsor Castle

Life seems to be dictated by food and coffee these days. Our Saturday began with homemade, bowls of soy and espresso.

Not bad for made at home cappuccinos.

Not bad for made at home cappuccinos.

This was the fuel for our day at Windsor Castle. Unlike other palaces we visited over  the years, this one stands out, because it is actually still in daily use by the Royal Family. In fact, the Queen was in for the weekend; unfortunately, our time didn’t permit afternoon tea, as there was just too much to see. After more than 800 years of royal living, Windsor claims to be the longest occupied castle in Europe.

Wasn't this a nice way to greet us as we exited the train station?

Wasn’t this a nice way to greet us as we exited the train station?

Who are these tourist knobs?

Who are these tourist knobs?

The guest wing

The State Apartments

We weren’t allowed to take pictures inside, which was killing me. So many great architectural details and furniture. I’ve “borrowed” some images from royal-windsor.com.

The Great Hall was re-vamped after a fire in 1992. The table has to be set up perfectly straight, otherwise, everything looks odd. There was no table at all when we were visiting, so it’s interesting to see a lack of commoners in this image.

Everything seems gilded (dipped in gold). These rooms are decidedly Rococo in style.

Great Gothic arches!

The King’s Bedroom. Not actually where he slept, but where his court greeted him in the morning. I’m glad only Phil has to see what I look like first thing in the morning. I don’t think I’d want a parade of people greeting me formally.

Please let me know when the Estate Sale happens – those chandeliers I think could be a great find.

There’s one piece of furniture that I just can’t get out of my head – The Ruben’s Cabinet. It was built entirely with ebony. This, unfortunately, is the only image I could find of it online. It was so amazingly carved. Ebony wood, even back then, would have cost a small fortune. There’s a bit of mystery behind the cabinet, because they don’t know exactly where it came from or what it’s original purpose is. I wasn’t able to see inside, but apparently it’s just as amazing inside with inlaid exotic woods.

(image via here)

St. George’s Chapel is one of the most beautiful structures I’ve ever encountered. It is shocking to me that they were able to build something of this magnitude in the 1500’s. It was built by one king to out do the king before him, who was his cousin. And he wanted his to be better than the one at Eton College. I have a hard time keeping up with what king did what. The Gothic architecture is meant to be imposing and to put you in your place in the world – meaning, you’re no God. The pointed arches, stained glass windows and seemingly unsupported ceiling are all key features of Gothic buildings.

Tricky to get the scale from the images. Just imagine building this structure.

(image via here)

This image gives a good feel for the magnitude of the detail involved.

(image via here)

The exterior – better image than any of the ones I got.

(image via here)

By this time, we were exhausted and famished. We had found a great little cafe before we went in – Fitzroy & Bailey.  They had the most amazing hummus & aubergine (not eggplant) sandwiches on ciabatta bread.

(image via here)

But after touring for a couple of hours, a good long sit down at a pub was required. We came across The Two Brewer’s, and it was perfect.

(image via here)

Unbeknownst to me, a cider also comes in a pint. This is Phil looking at my pint and thinking there is no way she'll finish this. But guess what, I did! It just took two hours.

Unbeknownst to me, a cider also comes in a pint. This is Phil looking at my pint and thinking there is no way she’ll finish this. But guess what, I did! It just took two hours.

The Queen did decide to join us at our table.

The Queen did decide to join us at our table.

3 thoughts on “Phillip, Elizabeth & the Queen at Windsor Castle

  1. Loving the fact you call yourself ‘knobs’…………and you are drinking pints of cider….I am so proud! G x

  2. Elizabeth and Philippe…..
    What family talks about neural pathways….? These experiences have to be having a great and very real impact on your neural pathways. Cool!
    I’m kind of obsessed with neural pathways at the moment as I just listened to about 12 hours of the audiobook called The Happiness Advantage and the author talks about how when a person really focuses on something (interior design, programming, holistic living, sound engineering, personal development, social work) that a part of your brain actually gets rewired. It’s quite interesting.
    Love the architecture and detail in your blog. I think I’ll go castle touring this weekend in LA. Oh…. hang on a ‘sec, there aren’t any castles here, or in Vancouver. Hmmmph. You guys are so living the life, and sharing it with us here in such an engaging way.
    Love it, and THANK YOU!
    Love you …. a lot.
    Dear old Dad. Pip Pip.

  3. Quite awesome the magnitude of the castle. I’m wondering, though, if that’s a rose bush outside the “Two Brewers” Pub. It doesn’t look like it needs that big of a container to grow in and it would be perfect for our cement wall.

Leave a Reply

