What a great day

This morning, I read the following in my Facebook feed. It was posted by my friend Lauryn who is doing yoga teacher training in California right now. She quit her job (as an Interior Designer) to follow her passion of teaching Bikram’s Yoga. How many people would be too terrified to take a “risk” like that? When she posted this definition, it struck a chord with me.

Metanoia. (n.)
The journey of changing one’s mind, heart, self, or way of life.

Since I was 19, I’ve been on a journey of self discovery and personal development work. And yet, I’ve never heard this term before. I love that it says it’s a journey. Change is always a conversation. Everything we create, we do so through words. And it usually doesn’t take one conversation to transform old ways of being or old thoughts we have about ourselves. It’s a lifetime of being conscious of what we say and the thoughts we have and the impact those have on our lives. Even the thoughts and beliefs we have about others confines what we see in them. The filters affect how we interact with them.

Every day we get to choose how we show up and what we bring to the world. We get to choose to be grateful – even for the crap life throws at us. We get to choose what we focus on. We get to choose our words. So today I’m choosing the words to set myself up for a great day.

I am so grateful to be in London and to be having this experience. I am so grateful to have such amazing people in my life. I can literally feel the support through this blog. I am grateful to have an amazing husband to share this journey with and who supports me no matter what. I am grateful the sun is shining through the window right now.

The only restrictions we have in our lives are the beliefs we hold. If we believe we can’t do something, then that will be true. If we believe we can do something, that will be true. For example, I had a belief that I was not a creative person. Turns out, I was wrong. I just had decided a long time ago that being creative was a useless skill and that being a strong-willed, business oriented person was better. Like the definition above, it has been a journey of discovering my creative side. One step at a time. Even this blog, for me, is a creative process. Writing is another item I had put in the “not creative enough to do” pile.

Right now, you’re probably having thoughts, judgements and beliefs about this blog post – whether it’s good or bad, whether it’s too out there or just what you needed to hear today. Most of the time, we are not even aware we are having these thoughts and yet we treat them like they’re the truth. And guess what, we can’t all be right, so your “truth” is just your truth not the truth and could be holding you back from something amazing – a new way of looking at a problem, a new way of seeing someone close to you, a new experience.

Today, I am choosing these words to start my day. I am going to be productive and positive and playful with my job search. A job will come easily, and I will be open to it being easy. I will find the right person to work with at an agency (everything here goes through recruiters) and they will become my advocate in the job search.

(image via here)

6 thoughts on “What a great day

  1. Here i thought lifestyle change was all about food, what to eat, or what not to eat… and the reasons behind it all.
    I’m constantly shifting between the philosophy and psychology of these life changing moments, scattered, but at the same time freeing with my “in the spirit of the moment” attitude.
    Finding myself wanting rid of the piles and piles of accumulation, but never setting aside the time to do it. Why? Because it’s a sunny day, or a rainy one with a good book, an invitation to lunch, a soccer game, the rodeo is in the neighbourhood… seriously, there’s always something.
    The piles are lurking in the background, i see them out of the corner of my eye, and every month they grow larger. So the only way to be free, in the end, is to deal with it. Create the right environment, music helps me dance through the debris, and every time i find something sentimental, i start a new pile. Ha!

    • Of course you’re the only person on the other side of the planet up reading my blog at this hour! And food is still very important! I’m having chocolate and coffee for breakfast so far. Since we’re waxing philosophical… What are the piles preventing you from having that you really want? Sometimes, the piles are an excuse to never getting around to the things that really matter to us. If those piles weren’t there, then what would you do? Right now, I’m finding my portfolio is my piles. I can keep working and working on it and making it perfect, so that I don’t actually have to face more rejection. Just when I think I’ve got it “done,” there is something else to do on it.

      • And which one of these lucky people at one of the amazing design shows is going to be lucky enough to hire you and have you on their team? There is only one of you, so the rest will have to do without.

Leave a Reply

