The Official Announcement: We’re going!

*Note: this should have been posted about a month ago…

What a bizarre, wonderful, emotional ride this has been already. Is it alright to express myself online through this journey? I’m not sure if this is something I will one day regret or be grateful that I have.

I’ll start from today and then work backwards, since I’ve missed so much of the story already. Today, I’m teetering between having a minor breakdown and taking up smoking and being blissfully peaceful that the sun is shining and the car told me it is 14 degrees Celsius. Is it possible to have this many emotions coursing through my body at any given moment? I think this is why I feel compelled in this given moment to begin my blogging journey.

My obstacle of the day is ensuring I have happy clients. I committed to a project before I knew we were moving, and I was delusional in thinking that it would be wrapped up in a neat little package – on time and on budget. As an Interior Designer, I have many sleepless, stressful nights/days considering what I could have done differently to avoid construction mayhem and make everything go smoother. In reality, I’ve chosen an industry that has myriad of issues and moving parts that get jammed together like an ill greased piece of machinery – one thing goes and it all grinds to a halt. If I wasn’t so madly in love with what I do, logic would kick in and tell me to get a normal 9 to 5 job and to relax a bit. Perhaps I could take on this advise somehow while still working for myself? I had not considered that an option. On this particular project, more things than usual have gone haywire. Why? I don’t know. It should have been the simplest, easiest bathroom upgrade. Now I’m waking up at 3am thinking about how to get the tile guy to do his job if not well, at least adequately.

I don’t think the stress is eased by the fact that in 4 weeks and 5 days my husband and I will be on a flight to London, England where we plan on setting up shop for two years. It was on our bucket list to live and work in another country, and we made it happen.

I suppose I should balance the obstacle of the day with the joy of the day. I began working with one of my former teachers from BCIT once a week. I absolutely love having a mentor who is on the same page as me and who is so knowledgeable in so many ways. I feel so lucky to be doing work with her, when she really could have chosen from any of the thousands of students that she’s taught over the years. The great thing about BCIT is that the teacher’s actually work in the industry. They know what they’re talking about. And they’re balancing their lives to fit teaching into their hectic schedules. My experience is that they truly care.

Back to work now. I guess I’ve committed myself now to posting on this blog. Wish me luck (on so many levels)!

Phil and I in Amsterdam in 2011

Phil and I in Amsterdam in 2011

2 thoughts on “The Official Announcement: We’re going!

  1. I’m pretty sure this will be in the really glad that you have it one day category. I’m looking forward to following you on your adventure! You are really quite a good writer.

Leave a Reply

